3 consecutive hours of no screen

Hey all.
I am curious to know about others’ experience with this topic.
Jake Steiner mentions on several occasions that in order to progress, one should go three hours, uninterrupted, without looking at any screens. Every day.

I would absolutely love to do that in an ideal world. But the reality is, for many of us, that our livelihood relies on being easy to reach on our cellphones.
I’m a freelance musician, and if I go three hours with my phone turned off, I could miss a bunch of calls or texts about potential gigs.

So, I’m wondering, is three consecutive hours of no screens really necessary? Have any of you had success in improving your eyesight without this daily commitment to three consecutive hours of no screens?

2 Likes

I’d say that’s probably the ideal (and not quite realistic) scenario. I’ve got an IT job and spend at least 8 hours a day for 4 days a week in front of my computer screens. And that’s just for work. On the other hand I dislike using smartphones for anything other than listening to music or eBooks… :grin: I try to get at least 45 minutes of uninterrupted outdoors distance vision (during my lunch break). And in the weekend and on Wednesdays, when I don’t have to work, I go for longer walks for 2-3 hours. With this routine I’ve managed to improve just fine so far.