A few thoughts about astigmatism from the point of view of a medical student

Hello everyone!

I’m a medical student and I want to share with everyone the knowledge I have acquired about astigmatism by reading pretty much every post from endmyopia about it and also by learning the mainstream medical point of view and asking doctors questions in my 2 weeks long ophthalmology rotation. One reason I’m doing this is because lately I’ve seen a lot of posts here and on the facebook group about astigmatism and a lot of people are asking questions about reducing it, spherical equivalent and so on. Hope you’ll find the information useful, I acknowledge my humane limitations and I’m open to discussions.

1. What exactly is astigmatism? - Basically, astigmatism happens when the cornea is not perfectly shaped (like a sphere), but resembles a rugby ball. That is, the length of the horizontal and vertical axes are different, thus the refractive power of the lens (cornea) varies. I don’t want to get into a lot of details, but what this means, is that there are 2 images formed on the retina because of the difference in refractive power along the 2 axes of the cornea. 2 images mean what we on endmyopia call astigmatic blur.

2. What does the axis number mean? - It is the angle (that’s why it’s written in degrees) between the two principal axes of the cornea that are different. This can be anywhere between 0 and 180 and the 2 different images formed on the retina are misaligned on this particular direction.

3. Why is astigmatism corrected with cylindrical lenses? - To correct myopia we use spherical lenses that diverge the all the rays of light, thus moving the image further back in your eye. To correct astigmatism, we use cylindrical lenses that diverge the rays of light only on a certain axis. Not gonna go further into high school physics about lenses.