Active Focus and Shape of Eye?

So I understand that the reason that myopia exists is because the eye is elongated. To my understanding, Active Focus is a way to “controll” the ciciliary muscles which controls the lens of your eye. How exactly does doing Active Focus help change the shape of your eye, which is the root problem of myopia?

2 Likes

Nobody knows, not even vaguely, let alone exactly. There are a few hypotheses. And not all myopia is caused by axial elongation, although it is probably the most common cause.

Welcome to the forum. You will meet many people interested in investigating the science, but EM is based mainly on a good deal of experience, and it works for many people, whether we know the mechanisms of how it happens or not.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply! As you can probabily tell, I am very new to EndMyopia and Active Focus. Does this mean that Active Focus cannot help/“cure” elongation of the eye? Or does Active Focus help with this as well?

It is probably a good idea that you read a lot more for yourself. The only reason why I answered as I did is to disabuse you of the idea that there is tons of science behind the methods of EM. Some people get so hooked on the need for scientific evidence that they never take the plunge of trusting the experiences of many others. Try it, see if it works for you, and then you can amuse yourself with hunting for the science. This is what I did, and I have had good improvements in the 18 months I have been on this journey. And I am still having fun learning about the biology and neurology of eyesight and looking for clues about why the method works.