Are Eye Exercises Bad for Your Eyes?

I know Jake and others say eye exercises are ineffective, but I also heard someone say that eye exercises may cause too much strain on the eye and slow progress. I did look for more answers on eye exercises but did not find any more information.

Wondering what others’ thoughts are on this? I’m new to all of this. Only started 2 weeks ago. I have been doing exercises every morning because they feel good, but now concerned if I am putting too much strain on my eyes?

Has anyone else noticed eye strain that slowed down their progress due to eye exercises?

Thank you!

how much time do you spend doing 'em? Wouldnt it be more useful to do other things…

1 Like

Eye exercises themselves don’t reduce myopia.
That said those execises can make extrinsic muscles more fluid and in better condition.
If you feel good doing that keep on doing.
I do yogic eye movements and other techniques, they help me to keep eyes in good health and awareness on vision as well.
Strain occurs sometimes but it’s not a problem. It goes away pretty quickly.
Keep in mind that retinal defocus (AF, CF, print pushing, etc) is the real thing that allows eyesight to improve.
All other techniques (swinging, exercises, palming, sunning, etc) are great but just to contribute in keeping eyes in good health.
This is my personal experience.

7 Likes

Thank you for your input. Yes, I’m doing yogic eye movements after yoga in the morning, and warn eye compresses at night because it does feel good. But I spend more time throughout the day building healthy eye habits of active focus and distance focusing. Just learned about print pushing last night. What’s CF?

2 Likes

Some like them. But “eye exercises” is also a pretty wide range of possible things. Extra ocular muscle exercises, vs. focus exercises for example, quite different animals.

One day I’ll put together a list of what might be the most useful of exercises, since it is a bit of a recurring topic. :grimacing::+1:t2: