Beginner Patcher Question - Astigmatism

Hello EM! My current prescription is L -7.25 and R -5.50, -1.0 cylinder which I’ve been wearing for the last 5 months. I can AF fine but not ready for a reduction, my last reduction was a -0.25 in cylinder. Individually my R is 2X as blurry as my L so I was thinking of patching to have the R eye ‘catch up’.
I have 2 questions,

1. Not sure which is my dominant eye couldn’t find the EM video for that but do I patch the L eye for the R eye to catch up?

2. I’ve read in the forum that the patched eye gets more clarity post patching so does mean I patch the R eye instead?

Any guidance and experiences to help me get clear on the next step is welcomed. Thank you!

To be honest I am not sure patching is the right approach for you at this point…
Considering the way your diopter gap works out with the cylinder being heavy on the eye with less sphere I wonder have you entertained cashing in some cylinder for spherical equivalent?

I have considered swapping cylinder for spherical. But at this point reduce cylinder and add spherical OR just simply add spherical? I’ve been using this prescription for 5 months.

I expect that depends on how much blur you are dealing with, However it seems to me the trade out is the more productive more forward. Eventually you will want to remove cylinder and also eventually you will want to equalize. I expect smaller steps will make for the easiest adjustment. So in that theory you would increase by .25 sphere to the R eye and knock out .5 of the cylinder. Though I have heard of people going bigger too, in which case you delete the full 1 of cylinder by increasing the spherical .5 (It is typically a 2:1 ratio)