Can See Better In Optometrist Lens That Are Technically Weaker Than Current Normalized Glasses. Why?

The current normalized glasses I bought from Zenni are -2/-2.25 OS/OD sph. Even though I have astigmatism, I don’t want to deal with that just yet. However, they are so hard to active focus, it is too blurry. I don’t know how I adapted to be honest, but it’s been around a year with these glasses and my eyes have not improved. In fact, they have gotten worse.

The fault is on me, EndMyopia is so subjective that it is hard to understand what is correct and what to do (even with all the scientific facts) and also quarantine has made my vision significantly worse. I started playing video games again and I missed having fun. I’m also a freshman in college and I’m starting to learn how to code. It has been destroying my eyes. Unfortunately, even with my EndMyopia habits and knowledge, I have a tendency to stay so focused that even if my eyes are burning from dry eyes and ciliary spasm, I don’t get bothered by it because I want to study and learn.

Recently, I went to the doctor to check my eyes and get new glasses because I’m gonna start driving soon. I want to make sure I am able to see the road and keep myself and others safe. As mentioned above, my current glasses are too blurry for me to look in the distance and active focus. So, I’m in the eye doctor with that lens kit where they flip lens and while I’m looking at Snellen chart letters. I honestly can’t see the small letters that well. I try my best, but they never get super clear, no matter how many lens my doctor changed. Eventually, when I did reach a certain degree of “okay I can kinda see the small letters” I kindly asked my doctor to print out my prescription, and my doctor responded in kindness.

My results? -1.50/-1.75 sph, -2.25/-1.75 cyl at 175 and 180 degrees respectively.

How is this possible? How were these lens so much better and are weaker at the same time? I only have two theories: