CM measurement and glasses

Hello, I have the eyesight of -9.5 (right), -12 (left) as per optometrist, but when I measure from CM measurement provided in end myopia website, I have -8 (right), -11 (left), should I buy my glasses as per cm measurement? Pls help I’m confused. By the way I feel like my eye sight is getting better.

1 Like

cm measurement to blur is from your eye = contact lens prescription (vertex distance of 0)
use the vertex distance formula to convert to glasses and you might find you have what you expect

I’m still learning as well, but from what I’ve gathered in my own research is that cm measurements are primarily used for tracking your progress and determining when its time to make changes. After adjusting for vertex distance, cm measurements will give you a baseline that will map pretty closely to your distance prescription at a particular light level. However, that may not be your ideal glasses prescription. That is, you may need tweaks to make it work for you, particularly if you have astigmatism, etc.

For example, I find that my cm measurement (I usually take the measurements using my desk lamp light) plus astigmatism correction will get me to 20/30 or so on my 6m Snellen chart under artificial indoor lighting. I can hit 20/20 with that prescription in sunlight, but I need about -0.5 diopters of additional sphere correction to hit 20/20 in artificial indoor lighting.

Then again, I have a trial/test lens set which allows me to experiment and dial in the numbers that work best for my eyes. So, your experience may differ.

1 Like