Confused by measuring myopia

Hello,
I am new to the endmyopia journey. I normally run trough life without glasses (already a couple of years), because I hate them. besides, all of them broke :grimacing:. But I wish to see clear again, that’s why I landed here.

I started with the 7 day course. Everything is fine, I’m understanding the well written e-mails and other posts and the audio-visual material and my active focus is already working well :slightly_smiling_face:.
Started measuring, having a little fun with that.
To buy my first normalized and differentials, I thought I should know everything that can be measured. Thus, I went into astigmatism measurement as well. With the DIY Tool on the page. - I know that I still have time buying those till I fought pseudo myopia first, I just already want to get the measuring right.

Now my problem.
when I measure spherical it is about -1.7 left and -1.6 right (Diopters)
when I measure astigmatism the A value is about -2.2 left and -1.9 right. Shouldn’t the A value of the DIY astigmatism measurement be the same as the spherical?

If so, I guess I’m measuring wrong. Perhaps I’m not used to know anymore what clear vision is.
Perhaps I should explain how i measure. For SPH measurement I use the tape measure method with very thin and small letters, that I see the blur “early on”. For the A value of the astigmatism I go backwards till the line is a tiny bit greyer compared to the arrow although I see the line clearly. How is that supposed to be?

I don’t think it’s necessary for answering my questions, but my astigmatism is between 0.50 and 0.75 left and 0.25 and 0.5 right. I just don’t know yet because I only measured it twice yet.