Dark Days' Diaries: Can I Achieve Significant Year-Over-Year Shortening?

Since my previous outdoor time experiment gathered quite some interest, I’m going to record a similar episode for the dreaded dark season.

I’ve been trying to provide hard evidence for the Reduced Lens Method for over a year now, measuring my eyes and recording the results. Last year, I took the dark days here in the north too lightly. The bill came in the form of worsening myopia and significant elongation of both eyes, thwarting my first attempt of producing evidence just as I got my own IOL Master, which allows me to measure my eyes’ length regularly.

You can see how things unfolded since then in my all-time chart:

The top chart is refraction; note that up is better there. The bottom graphs show how the length of my eyes changed, with slow but almost continuous shortening since spring. By looking at both kinds of graphs, you can see how shorter eyes correspond to better distance vision and vice-versa.

All this means: now is a decisive time! Will my eyes worsen again, turning this into a Sisyphean back-and-forth? Or can I keep my shortened eyes until spring? Or, if I dare to wish, might it even be possible to keep improving in winter?

Overcoming this obstacle would not only give me the prospect of better vision every year, but also leave a permanent record for all the naysayers, showing beyond reasonable doubt that eyes can shorten over the long run! So, can they really?

The main changes I’m pushing, compared to last winter, are:

• Trying to catch more outdoor daylight around noon.
  • Computer glasses reduced twice (0.5 dpt less spherical; now using -1.75 on PC at ~90cm).
  • Distance glasses roughly reduced twice (maybe a bit less due to details on glasses usage).
  • Much stronger indoor lighting has been installed.
  • Edit: outdated 2019-12-13: Trying to sleep earlier than last winter, to avoid missing daylight by sleeping in.