Denise Skidmore, From -17D

My name is Denise Skidmore, and I’m starting around -16D. (I’ll get my exact prescription in two weeks.)

I’ve been wearing glasses… Well about 3.5 decades. Putting on glasses when I wake up is as automatic to me as putting shoes on when you go out the door is to you.

I don’t put my shoes on every time I go out the door. This isn’t my first attempt at self experimentation and unconventional self treatment. In 2008 I weaned myself off corrective shoes. Cured some foot issues I’d had, and reduced my ”fibromyalgia” pain down to one bad joint I’d apparently been compensating badly for.

I’m a DIYer in many other fields, I’m a hobby farmer, seamstress, 18th century food reenactor, 17th century clothing reenactor. My interests are too diverse to keep up with any intensively over long periods, but I dig pretty deep when I start something new.

So about 20 years ago I made a bargain with my husband that if he ever did something about his broken teeth, I’d look into LASIK. So a few months ago he went to a seminar and I was obligated to do the same.

The seminar didn’t really have any good news for those worse than -10, but the follow up consultation was free and they said there were other options to discuss. At the follow-up, they recommended implanted lenses plus LASIK (because neither procedure was strong enough alone) to the tune of $13,000. I’m a nerd, I have a well paid nerdy job, but I also have this money pit nerdy farm and just last year bought myself a new tractor and hubby a new car and the dental work hubby needs isn’t cheap either. It has to be the no brainier right choice before I make that kind of investment and trust my eyes to a surgeon.

So I started researching. I’m a nerd, I read medical papers for a living and for fun. My research is a bit more obsessive than most folks. I did a little self experimentation. What I’ve discovered so far: