Determining diopters for 20/40 vision

I am just starting out in trying to improve my vision.

After measuring my eyesight over the course of a week I came up with an average of R -5, L -5.50

So I guess I got a little too enthusiastic about this and jumped into ordering new glasses too soon!

The glasses I ordered are R -5, L -5.50, to match the measurements I came up with. I simply disregarded the astigmatism part of the rx which may have been a big mistake?

This is my actual RX:
OD -7, cylinder -0.50, axis 165
OS -7.50, cylinder -0.25, axis 160

Apparently the strength of the new glasses I just got is way too much too soon.

Testing out my new glasses using a Snellen chart, I can only really make out the E on the 20/220 line! Even that is blurry! - but it is the only letter on the eye chart where I can perceive the different parts of the letter.

My understanding is that ideally I would want glasses that allow me to read down to the 20/40 line, so that I still have good distance vision with just some blur on the edge - but I have no idea how I would determine what strength that is, without a collection of different strength lenses to try on and test.

Should I send these lenses back and get different strength lenses and if so can anyone offer any guidance on how I can get a better idea of the right strength? It would be much appreciated! Thanks.

How do things look on your computer screen with those new glasses? They are 2 diopters lower than your habitual glasses. 1.50 is a common reduction for near work. You could try these for a month for computer work and reevaluate. If they are too weak for computer work you can save them for your next differentials (near glasses) and get some stronger ones for now.

Or 20/30 or even 20/25. You have to figure out how much blur you need to get a good challenge, but just a little.