Dinah's Journey, high myopia

Hi,
This is Dinah and I work as a researcher. I’m 27, work 8-12 hours every day in front of my computer and I see my vision is decreasing.

Jan. 2021
Now I wear glasses: left: 5.25 sph, 0.75 cyl and right: 6.5 sph, 1.25 cyl. Last week I had some infection and felt my eyes were very dry, so I went to the doctors. The doctor told me that my cornea is very dry and my eyes got worse; left: 5.75 sph, 0.75 cyl and right 8.25 sph, 1.25 cyl. I was very desperate.
I know the EM and followed the facebook group for around half a year. Now I really decide to start my journey. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

good choice - at the very least, once you have found good differentials for yourself, and start using them for a few weeks, you will relieve your ciliary spasm, probably gain 0.5 D just from that, and probably realise you are overprescribed (opticians tend to correct for sharp NIGHT distance vision and some even add 0.25 D on top of that - so if you have a typical optician your normal daytime prescription might be 0.5 D less than what you state above, anyway ) :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I suspect that when the infection clears up you would not need the over correction. Or at the very least be aware that you may not need them. Very good idea to take the cm measurements. Glad you started.

2 Likes

update May 2021

I start wearing my differential at the beginning of April. left: 3.5 sph, 0.5 cyl; right: 6.5 sph, 1 cyl. (I have tried 6.25 sph and 1cyl for my right eye. However, it was super blurry and I cannot use my right eye properly looking at my screen. So I add 0.25 more to my right eye and now I feel very comfortable using my differentials. ) My normalized is: left: 5 sph, 0.5 cyl; right: 7.5sph, 0.75 cyl.