Do I have to wear my normalized all the time?

Hello everyone,

I am a current college student working on improving my vision as much as I can in my crazy school schedule. I got my normalized glasses in the mail that seem to have just the right amount of blur. Normally, I wear full-prescription eye contacts and have gotten used to presenting myself as someone who does not wear glasses. Could I still improve my vision at a similar rate if I only wear my normalized glasses when I get home or for just a few hours a day as opposed to wearing them 24/7? I have not yet achieved active focus but I only just got a fitting pair of normalized lenses and have used them for watching tv at night. I can’t wait to hear what you all have to say!

I would definitely wear them outdoors and in school, instead of your full correction contacts. I think wearing your full correction for a considerable amount of time, will slow down your progress. So you should probably only wear those when you absolutely need to, like in traffic at night. If you don’t like to wear glasses in public you should probably get a pair of normalized contacts. When doing close-up work you should of course wear your differentials (unless you have low myopia and don’t need any).
Personally I also like to wear no correction whatsoever at times. When I’m just hanging around the house for example I don’t need to see absolutely clearly, so then I just take them off.

2 Likes

Full correction is the pure negative stimulation if you look closer than 20 feet with them. I believe it is impossible just to use contact lenses for school, because you look all the time on your book and also on the blackgoard, right?