Double vision - recalibrating your visual system

The topic of double vision in relation to the EM method surfaces quite regularly. I too suffer from double vision from time to time. So I thought I’d share my method of working on it, in the hope that it might benefit other people who are also struggling with double vision.

There are of course two kinds of double vision:

1. Double vision with both eyes as a result of strabismus or other convergence issues
  2. Double vision with a single eye as a result of (transient) astigmatism

I (fortunately) have no strabismus or convergence issues, so I have no experience dealing with those. This post is about the second kind: (transient) astigmatism.

First of all it’s important to check for yourself what your double vision is for both eyes separately, since these can be very different, as is the case with me. I find the easiest way to check this, is to look at clean white lines on a dark background from a distance of 3m or more, on a TV or computer monitor, while wearing my normalized glasses. Close or cover one eye and notice the doubling of the lines, the relative positions of the two images and the contrast of each image. This is not really about measuring the exact angle (I’ve never bothered with that), but for you to get a sense of which image comes from which eye. And what it is you need to work on.

In my case my left eye sometimes sees 2 images that diverge vertically (one below the other). This is consistent with the astigmatism correction I had is my original prescription glasses, which had a cylinder of -1.00 at an angle of 178°. At other times however the image is perfectly clear with no double vision whatsoever, which proves that this astigmatism is not something fixed or irreversible. It is interesting to note however that when I do experience double vision in my left eye, it is always at this approximate angle. The lower image is always fainter then the top image.