EM working just fine!

Just got back from optometrist and got a pretty good reduction on my eyesight.
R -2.00 C -1.25 Add 1.50 2016
R -0.75 C -1.25 Add 1.75 today visus 1.10
L -3.50 C -1.75 Add 1.50 2016
L -2.50 C -1.00 Add 1.75 today visus 1.10
The optometrist also let me try without cilinders and without correction there was a bit to much blur to my liking so I ended up with
R -1.25 and L -2.75 visus 0.95
I decided to go without cilinders because my left eye has made a lot of progress on the cilinder part the last four months and I didn’t want to mess it up again.

When we were talking about the differentials she said without cilinders I would need one plus and one minus glass but I decided to take a raincheck because that is another focal plane to deal with. I haven’t seen this variety yet on the forum and as I am fairly new to all of this I wanted to ask about your ideas on this matter.

11 Likes

Very nice results, congratulations. So you have gone with a bit of spherical equivalent to replace the cylinder correction, and it will be interesting to hear how this works out for you.
Diffs become a tricky issue when there is still a diopter gap, and one eye would move into + lens territory. I suppose you cannot see well enough yet to do without diffs altogether. You could consider using diffs to initiate an equalising process - reducing for the weaker eye and having a plano lens for the stronger one. I tried this, but I found the quality of the plano lens very poor, took it out, and tried out one-lensed differentials (I have a very big diopter gap). This could prepare you for an equalising step in your next norms.

2 Likes

Thank you Hannie. I like your idea on closing the diopter gap. I can see well enough without diffs (thanks to my blur tolerance :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:) but I’m sure it would be useful to have one. So I plan to evaluate after a couple of weeks wearing the normalised.

1 Like