Experiencing eye soreness?

Hi there,
So im a full time student and work 30 hrs a weeks ontop of school so im always on a screen unfortunately.
Heres the deal:
My last optometry check up raised my prescription to -4.50. I was - 4.25 prior.
I also asked for computer glasses and she gave me - 3.50.
So i stuck with my - 4.25 for normalized since apparently i need - 4.50 now… And started using my - 3.50 for computer use.
I noticed my eyes felt strained using the - 3.50 and i would forget to take them off when walking around cause i could see okay through the house just not far away… I decided to order a -2.50 and that helped with the strain it seemed but then recently i was studying for my exam and was sitting slightly further away from the screen than normal and noticed my eyes felt really sore. So i thought i was over doing it maybe with too weak of a differential? Idk. I swiched back to my normalized cause i didnt have my - 3.50 with me and so im kind of worried… Cause i feel very dizzy now. And my eyes are still sore.
Might anyone know what i should do to get rid of the soreness and or anything else i can do?

1 Like

I do get tired eyes, a sense of soreness, from excessive computer use, regardless of what prescription I use. The soreness tends to be less prevalent the stronger my glasses in, but the stronger my glasses gets generally rather than soreness, what I will feel is tightness. In general I think the soreness I feel is better than the tightness.

The main goal of differentials is to prevent your vision from getting worse. I think maximizing comfort is ideal. Finding the sweet spot of as close to ergonomic as possible with the right diffs for the distance.
I don’t think theres too much you can do here other than reconsider how you’re spending time when you are not a student/graphic designer.