FMR's Update Journal #2 - Lens power Equalization, Astigmatism reduction, and Ocular/Visual Cortex OD/OS input Balancing (reduction of suppression)

Soon, I will be done with power increases, and will focus attention on my first power reduction, which will entail removing 0.25 D from the right lens (OD).

But the work starts now, long before the actual equalization. Much of what I do over the coming few months will be geared toward balancing my vision between the two eyes. This Journal will follow the whole process.

5 Likes

Decided I’m going to stay away from eye patching totally if at all possible. Not only do I think the eyes work best as a team, but I have extensive patching experience from a long time ago, and it was a very energy intensive, draining technique…very uncomfortable. I don’t believe in altering the neural input weights between the right and left eye unless truly needed, either.

So, things will mostly focus on improving binocular balance.

1 Like

So, OD has a higher lens power right now (0.25 D). But it also AFs better. But it goes blurry faster in spasm/fatigue, too. Text is sharper in this eye, too (at all distances).

Suppression happens more in the OS, and it’s not as good at focus change.

Images are slightly larger through the right eye. Certainly left to right, things appear wider.

I am right eye dominant.

2 Likes

I started my own journey with equalizing. My difference between the 2 eyes is .75 and I cant wait for the left to catch up with the right since the amount of things I can see with the right is so much more. I went down .25 on the left just a few days ago. I have been working on the left all along to do focusing alone but no specific amount of time. My left eye is responding very well and clearing up even with an overcast sky. I haven’t done much to isolate the left and still the progress is impressive.

4 Likes