Glasses for medium distances?

Hi everyone! Newbie here, started my EndMyopia journey just last July 1st. I’m in the lower myopia range with a -2.75 left eye and -2.00 right eye.

I’ve had good progress after applying the fundamentals (less close-up screen time, more time outdoors, AF and eye measuring as habits) that in recent days, my left eye is recording -2.50 using the centimeter method. :grin: (Thanks, Jake and EM community!)

My normalized is a -2.25 left eye and -1.75 right eye and I currently do not use a differential as I can still see close range (including computer distance) with only a slight blur, enough to apply/practice AF.

With this, I have a question relating to the in-between distances:

• Is it advisable to have a different pair of glasses for medium distances, ex. ~7 feet, for watching TV? My normalized is too strong for this distance, while not using any correction puts me in an uncomfortable amount of blur.

All your inputs will be helpful — thank you so much :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

3 Likes

I am in this situation too- normalized work well for outdoor distances but are too strong for indoor things like watching TV 10 feet away. I think a second pair of weaker glasses could help you improve even more.

2 Likes

I don’t think it’s “required” for EM but it seems like a reasonable idea to me to have a pair of “indoor” glasses that let you get a little bit of focus challenge on the TV screen. As you improve further you could use those as your outdoor normalized sometime in the future. Since your current level of myopia lines up well with “computer screen” viewing distance you don’t really need glasses for the computer, but still need them for “intermediate distance” like TV, and “full distance” like being outside.

2 Likes

If you need it for the TV, it would make sense to get a pair of glasses with just enough diopter for the 7 feet distance.