Glasses Rx troubles - please help!

Well my umpteenth attempt in the past 3 years to get a glasses Rx that works for me is the same as all the rest. I’m new to this EM game but having great success getting AF down when my eyes are ‘naked’ and when I wear the goofy test lens glasses while I work on the computer. I wear contacts during the day (with +1.5 lenses for differentials) and find it hard to get AF with them because it makes my contacts blurry. So I really really really want to get into glasses. I’ve been to two optometrists and their multiple attempts have failed. My own attempts have failed, I think.

So here’s the data…
My contacts Rx is R -5 -2.25 L -7 -1.75 these work well for me now.
My measurements lately are R -6.5 L -8.25
I used the test lens kit and am comfortable for long periods of close up work with R -5 -2 L -7 -2.
So I just ordered 2 pairs of specs based on my test lens kit use:
R -6 -2 L -8 -2
R -5 -2 L -7 -2
And I ordered another as a conversion from my contacts Rx: R -5.5 -2.25 L -7.75 -2

All the glasses are incredibly uncomfortable and the -5/-7 is not similar to what I get with the test lens kit. (I kinda expected that because the obvious differences, but no this off.) The R is pretty clear. It could be a normalized distance Rx. The L is blurry and would probably work well as a close up w the computer closer.
The other two pairs are both pretty uncomfortable to wear for any long period for anything. This has been the story with all the glasses I’ve tried the past 3 years.

So, I’d love some advice…
-Have I perhaps not given the glasses enough time and need to adjust to them? Should I maybe practice AF in them more, even though one eye is not strong enough and the other is clear?
-Should I go back to the opto and see if he can help? I think he’s measuring my eyes fine and it’s matching the measures I get on my own but somehow the glasses don’t translate.
-Should I try another Rx on my own, tweaking based on what I’m getting with the -5/-7s?