Hello and guidance please

Hello all, like most in this topic/ group I have a high cyl value in comparison to the sph.
Here is my most recent prescription, yet I feel they maybe a bit strong with the current lens…tbh I have no real judge as I have not worn glasses most of my teen to adult life… My last pair were okay and meant the clarity was there but not the magnification…
I am at a different opticians today to ask if they are correct and that I couldn’t get away with less Cyl?.Does this sound pointless or worth asking?.

R sph -0.25. Cyl -2.75 axis 80

L sph -0.50 Cly -2.25 axis 86

I know very little to this point but read on how you can normally reduce the sph and then Cly in turn ,but with the low sph value I don’t think that applies to me.

I was going to try the bates method for getting my focus developed but not sure it is a valid starting point.

I could get these new lens and then look for a small diopter on the diff pair ?.

As you can see I am a complete novice and trying to comprehend my current situation.

Any and all advice is valued. Kind regards Jamie

1 Like

You are going to need to read up on everything for yourself, you can not make informed decisions if you don’t get informed. If your last pair of glasses gave reasonable clarity, stick with them for the moment and start doing your own measurements. Once you have your own snellen chart you will find out quickly if your old glasses are enough or not. You are correct that you will need to adjust the method to your particular situation but that just underlines all the more how much you need to learn it for yourself. I recommend this page: Astigmatism - EndMyopia Wiki
Also there is a huge thread for astigmatism here on the forum.
Best wishes in your journey

2 Likes

True I have the Bates method from yester year ,which has a small chart included but probably not ideal. I just attempted to measure using a spike chart online and didn’t give me an accurate reading…or I didn’t think it has.