Hello everyone...Newbie here

Hello from the US. I’m new here and to navigating in a Forum, please bear with me. I’ve been searching online for information on how to stop the progression of my sons myopia and I came across the video “A Beginners Guide to Endmyopia”. My son’s eyeglass prescription has progressively increased over the years and is now -9.75, Cyl: -1.75, axis: 030 and -8.75, Cyl: -2.25, axis 145. He refuses to wear glasses because they are so thick and heavy and give him peripheral distortion, so he wears contacts instead. He spends a majority of the day doing online classes or upclose work of some kind. I would like to know if anyone has experience with wearing contacts with a differential prescription and then adding minus eyeglasses to reach a normalized prescription for distance.

I have also been researching where to buy contacts without a prescription. The UK company I contacted response was this:
“ Hi, thanks for contacting VisionDirect.
Regulations imposed and enforced in the USA by the FDA means that we will no longer be allowed to ship orders from the UK or EU direct to customers in the USA without validating that the customer’s prescription matches the lenses shipped. We have continued to do this for as long as we could but from
2021 this will no longer be possible. I apologise for the inconvenience.”

I’m hoping to get my son started on reducing his myopia as soon as possible. Thanks for this forum.

1 Like

Hi welcome.

Yes the EM techniques are all applicable with contact lenses.
You and your son just need to be aware that contact lens prescriptions are slightly lower than glasses prescriptions. I guess you proabably know that already.

How old is your son?
There are some pretty pro-active teenagers on this forum.
I’ve heard of many parents guiding 5-10 y.o. through their journey. Kids that age ‘get it’
We were also helping a 13 yo with questions the other day.