Hello, I'm Carla!

Hi everyone,

I’m Carla, from Seattle, 37 years old and have been wearing glasses since I was 13. My prescription got worse every other year until the age of 30, when it stabilized at -4 D (right eye) and -3.75 D (left eye), with -0.25 astigmatism in my left eye only. I’m a pastry chef and my close-up work is usually an arm’s length away on my workbench, but like any modern human, I also spend a fair amount of time (3-4 hours a day) looking at computer screens. I run my own bakery and have a decent amount of admin / email to handle every day.

One night about a month ago, I had been watching YouTube in dim light for a couple of hours on my iPad, and felt a really weird sensation in my eyes, as though a ring of muscle was completely squeezing them in and strangling them. I immediately put down my iPad and just went to bed, feeling a little afraid, but aware that my body was telling me something. My eyes had had enough!

A couple days later, I was looking up “eye spasm” online and found one of Jake’s videos. It was a video specifically about how the closer the object is to your face, and the smaller the details are, the more work your eyes have to do. I immediately started changing some of my habits. I completely stopped looking at videos on my phone, and starting sitting further away from my computer screen. My eyes immediately began to respond positively, feeling less tight in the mornings upon waking.