Hello! Newbie trying to spend more time outdoors

Hello everyone! Mouse here. I’m from London, I’m just getting started, and this is my story.

I’ve been wearing glasses for myopia since the age of six. I was told to only wear my first pair for school, watching television, and reading (really! with myopia!) but of course that soon progressed to all the time, with stronger and stronger lenses. I’m an introvert, and I didn’t have the internet back then, so most of my spare time was spent with a book. By about age 14 I was at -6.5.

Now here is where it gets interesting. It’s unfortunate that I have no proof of any of this, so it’s all speculative, but it seems worth sharing nonetheless. I went through a very rough time in my mid to late teens, and part of that meant that I neglected my health. I didn’t have any eye tests, and I wore the same pair of glasses for many years. By 19/20 I was turning things around, and one of the things I did to try to improve my absolutely terrible self-esteem was to volunteer in an African country for three months. During those three months, I spent at least half of my waking hours outside. I used a computer for an hour once a week, when I travelled to the internet cafe in the nearest town. I did a bit of reading, but only a fraction of what I would have done at home. My glasses, already old, got scratched to bits, and I attributed the issues I was having with my sight to that.

Some time after I came home I went for an eye test. -4.25, -4. It would be lovely if I could say I’d gained 2.25 diopters in 3 months, but of course it’s also possible that my sight changed during the years I didn’t have any testing done. I didn’t think much of it at the time, just bought the new glasses. Since then I’ve bought all my glasses online, because it’s so much more affordable, and had several tests which were consistently at -4.25, -4.