Mathematical Language Precision

The fact that myope lenses are denoted with negative signs makes for all sorts of confusion in mathematical language. I’m a computer programmer, we tend to be very literal, especially about our math, and one always has to double-check with the client when dealing with special rules for negative numbers because different people mean different things.

Reducing negative sphere power is the opposite of reducing sphere diopters.

“I’m reducing my lenses” around here usually means adding not subtracting diopters. 90% of the time when we’re discussing simple cases, that language doesn’t matter, you’ll find out real quick your mistake if you accidentally order plus lenses instead of minus ones, and if all the numbers are negative, and there’s no multiplication, they act correctly. But when we get to cylinder described as plus, or last diopter issues, where there are mixed signs, it gets very confusing.

Then there’s “progression” which can mean “myopia progression” (eyes getting more minus) or “I made progress” (eyes getting more plus). “improvement” would be “myopia remission”. But usually around here we mean “EndMyopia method progression”.

I don’t expect to change the language used, the mathematically correct terms are confusing to most folk. Just venting a little bit.

5 Likes

I read “reducing lenses” as “reducing absolute spherical equivalent power of lenses used for a given distance.” That is almost always what people mean.

But the tendency to drop signs is driving me crazy. Especially when there’s minus cylinder and minus sphere and people drop one of the signs, instantly derailing the discussion into a “what’s even going on here” tangent that’s entirely fictional.

Don’t drop signs, folks. :face_with_monocle:

3 Likes

since the forum is called endmyopia, we have to assume we’re dealing with negative lenses, but “reduced” power/lenses always means towards 0, it doesn’t matter whether you’re coming from -4 or +4.