Michael's progress report

So I received a (probably automatically generated) mail from @jakey last week, asking about my eyeballs… :slight_smile: So I thought I’d share my reply here as well:

Hi Jake,

I realize this is an automatically generated message ½ year after I signed up for the free e-mails… :slight_smile: But that doesn’t really matter. You asked, so I’ll answer. I feel you definitely deserve some positive feedback in return for all the information you made available to the world for free.

So, how are things going with the eyeballs? Great actually! I’ve started this journey with the following prescription: R: SPH -3.25 L: SPH -2.50, CYL -1.00 @ 178° and I had been wearing glasses for 38 years then. And currently I wear normalized glasses with SPH -2.00 for both eyes and I’m actually considering dropping to -1.75. Actually I’ve been testing those outside for the first time today, and it looks promising. My left eye is definitely up for the challenge, but the right one is lagging behind as usual. So I’m not quite sure yet whether I’ll stick with -1.75 or wait a few more weeks until my right eye has improved some more. I plan to also check how well I can read the subtitles on TV with -1.75 tonight. I also just checked my Snellen chart:
@-2,00: R: 20/25, L: 20/15, Both: 20/15
@-1,75: R: 20/40, L: 20/20, Both: 20/20
And finally my centimeters: R: 36, L: 43
It looks like my right eye is having a bad day today since I’ve seen better cm results (up to 39 cm) with it…

I don’t really measure the centimeters all that othen, since the results fluctuate a lot, and some occasional double vision in my left eye makes it difficult to get consistent measurements. But I’m very much aware of changes in my visual acuity outdoors and when watching TV (looking at subtitles), so I tend to base my decisions more on these things and the Snellen results.