My highly mypopic journey, fear, skeptisim and hope

Hello all.

So I’ll start with giving a bit of background on myself, my eyes and why I’m here. I’ll try and keep this short.

I’m a -10, in my mid 40’s. I’m very active, having done martial arts and yoga much of my adult life and teen years. I’ve worn glasses since I was around 7 years old. I’ve been doing martial arts since I was 12 years old.

Martial arts and high myopia right?! By aged 15 I discovered the magic of contact lenses, and simply forgot that I was so shortsighted.

But… One day I learned something that all high myopes learn. I’m not just short sighted. I’m susceptible to eye issues, someone with a -2 doesn’t really have to think about too much. We weren’t told anything about this in the 80’s and 90’s. Literally, nothing.

I’d had to stop much of my martial arts practice in my 20’s, due to back issues. Fast forward to 2011, my small floaters suddenly become massive. I was told that I have degenerative virtuous due to my myopia, but otherwise everything is fine. I’ve actually continued my martial arts practice since then. I use an eye guard religiously, and keep the sparring light. Its a risk, but I’m not going to stop my passion.

At the time, I was very freaked out. I went for three exams in total, some eye doctors at Moorfields in the UK are great, some are terrible. ( One told me I had lattice degeneration. On a recent exam, apparently 10 years later I don’t have lattice degeneration. But that one told me I have a PVD. I went for another exam, apparently I don’t have a PVD.)

But the last one I saw in 2011 just said; go and live your life. So I took a job at sea, and even spent a few month in Antarctica.