Myopia-manual .de

Despite the domain name, it’s an English site. I was searching for myopia scientific papers when I found it and it seems really interesting. It’s not a website, but more like a starting page for a free (almost) 400 pages ebook about myopia.

Just a short summary from the site which will explain why I’m linking it here:

Old-fashioned medicine was stating, that myopia is rare and exclusively inherited, and to prescribe glasses is all what you can do, and that the prevention of myopia or the prevention of the progression of myopia (or of a resulting blindness) is not possible.

The site and eBook is made my Dr. Klaus Schmid, from his about section:

I am a physicist by education and became interested in myopia because of the severe shortsighted-ness of my children – without myopic ancestors. I started to collect information to help them, and finally wanted to share all this material with everybody who is affected by the problem of myopia. A special motivation was also the experience from my “professional life” that really neutral and unbiased views are rather rare, but highly demanded by the “clients”. As a consequence, this paper is intended to be as neutral and unbiased as possible and rather complete.

There is no way I will read the whole 400 pages book, but I skimmed the book and checked some section which I found interesting.
The book is take every kind of method and opinion about myopia, links scientific literature and discuss them a bit with as less partiality as possible. So it can be interesting just because of this. He also has a large section about minerals and vitamin and body parameters which I think can also be interesting to some.
Ultimately he emphasis good habits (similar to the Endmyopia recommendation) and also using “differentials” (he use the term plus glasses which I think is a bit confusing but I understand how he come to this). He does not recommend normalized and also no discussion about active focus.