Newbie here, issues with first correction

Hello, Deano here. Complete newbie to both the forums, myopia, and indeed eyeglasses.

My story is likely similar to others.

Am 55 years old, and had to renew my drivers licence. In my country of New Zealand, you have to renew your licence every 10 years.

I looked into the machine, and could not see any of the letters at all. Failed the test, so had to go to an optometrist for comprehensive eye exam.

Was told I do not require glasses for reading, but require some for driving.

Here is my prescription:

Right Eye:
Sphere -1.0 Cyl -1.5 Axis 166

Left Eye:
Sphere -0.5 Cyl -1.75 Axis 175

I have never worn eyeglasses before in my life.
Here’s where my issues start.
I fell directly into the optometrists trap, and was told I needed two pairs of glasses, one for driving
at night, and another pair for sunglasses.

This was last October.
For the life of me, I can not adjust to my glasses.
Not only can I NOT drive wearing my glasses, but I suffer from ‘vertigo’, and when I wear my prescription, it affects me so much, I fall over and am incapacitated for long periods of time.
My glasses distort and warp my vision, and prolonged periods wearing them give me bad head aches, and very sore eyes, which last for days even after removing the glasses, and not wearing them for a week.

My optometrist tells me that I need to adjust to them, but it has been over 4 months, and they look just the same as the very second I first put them on.

I obtained some cheap glasses, and fiddled with my prescription, by removing the cylinder correction, and leaving the spherical as it was.

Instantly, I no longer had the warped vision, and my vertigo was not triggered.
I ordered more pairs of glasses, and added the astigmatism correction back in.

I was able to go up to -1.0 before I noticed any significant warping or bending.
I then tried lowering the spherical, and found things started to get blurry.