Newbie w/ Contact Lens vs. Glasses Question

Hi friends! I’m new to EM but happily I am already seeing gains in the last week or two. It started with discovering EM on Youtube and the podcast, after which I started wearing my contact lenses only when I go to the gym, and wearing my (3 year old) glasses the rest of the time. Now I actually can’t wear my contact lenses any more because they feel so strong they give me headaches and make me feel dizzy. Crazy!

So I’ve already ordered a new pair of differential glasses for at-home, because even my 3 year old glasses are stronger than what I need for at-home activities like reading, phone use, or watching TV. I can almost get by with no glasses, but not quite. I definitely need some norms for the gym though, so I want to get contact lenses for that.

Now to get to my question. I’m going to give my diopters just so my question is clear, but I’m NOT asking for diopter specific advice just to be clear :slight_smile: I’m just confused about the concept I’m about to describe.

My current glasses prescription is
OD -1.75
OS -2.25
So there’s a difference of 0.5 diopters between my eyes.

My current contact lens prescription is
OD -1.5
OS. -2.5
So here there’s a difference of 1.0 diopters between my eyes.

Is this normal?? When I’m not wearing any glasses or contacts I don’t feel like there is a big difference in my vision from eye to eye, so I’m thinking about ordering my normalized contact lenses with only a 0.5 or 0.75 difference between the two, but I don’t know if reducing diopters and then also messing with the difference between the two is going to totally mess me up. Anyone have experience with this?

Also - Anyone have a recommendation about where to order contacts from?

3 Likes

Join the club! This is the point it all suddenly becomes real.