Question for Jake and EndMyopia Community

Dear Jake and EndMyopia Community,

This is my first time posting so I hope this post will serve both as a quick introduction a question.

To start, I am around a -2, -2.5 (it fluctuates) prescription in both eyes, and I’ve been wearing contact lenses since I was 10 (I am 20 now). My question is whether the EndMyopia method of using progressively weaker lenses can be achieved with contacts. I’d do the same method as those wearing glasses-- progressively lowering and normalizing diopters-- but I’d do it with contacts instead of glasses. And when I read or do close-up work, I’ll use plus lenses to cancel out my minus prescriptioned contacts.

Is this okay?

Thank you Jake and the EndMyopia community for such a great place to take responsibility for our own eyesight. God bless you all and I hope you all achieve what you are looking for.

If you can dream it, you can believe it. Persistent but patient. Never back down.

–Alex

1 Like

Yes, people make it work with contacts. What you’re describing sounds OK.

1 Like

Welcome to the community.

I was a long time contact lens user and using the reduced contacts method sounds fine. (Though I changed to glasses for other reasons)

But as I see it (and just my opinion) why the requirement for plus lens? As I see it, contacts would be crutch no 1 and plus lenses crutch no 2. Remove the contacts for close-up work, no?

If you feel you would really require them, I would strongly urge you to go through Jake’s blogs and videos to understand how/ when to use them.

Most of the plus lens users here know what they are doing but occasionally there are newcomers who get carried away and then have issues with too many focal changes/ double vision etc.

All the best to you in your journey :+1: and looking forward to your updates.

1 Like