Reducing normalised

Hi there. I’m just looking for some advice about when to reduce my normalised. I’m only on my first pair which I’ve been wearing for 3 months now and I was hoping to reduce around the end of September.
I can see 20/20 in good light on my Snellen with a tiny bit of ghosting. I am finally getting the hang of making AF a habit when I’m outside and I can read car number plates now at around 25 metres, albeit the letters kind of swim around a bit for a few seconds until they seem to settle and I can read them properly. I feel like I can see really well outside. My night vision however is not as good and I can only get 20/50 on my chart in dim light. So, how far should I be seeing outside crystal clear before reducing? I don’t want to reduce too fast and have to go back up again but I want to progress a bit before the dark nights arrive!

1 Like

You should ride the current normz out till the ghosting is gone. Night vision should improve in time as well. Reducing too soon tend to come back 'round to haunt you, so take it from one of many who knows first hand this is a great time to be patient and wait.

1 Like

You should have some “check text” and monitor its clarity over the time. I think snellen is not so easy, more letters would be better. The time of clearing the blur will be very short when you have improved.

1 Like

I just failed at this. Check my blogpost. Its very important to do your CM measurements and put your Snellen chart in a well lit room with no natural light. Only have this one setup where you do your readings. You should be able to read 20/20 indoors before you reduce. If you take readings in different conditions you’ll trick yourself into thinking your improving faster than you actually are and slow your progress.

2 Likes