Setting expectations for correcting myopia and astigmatism

Hello,

Newbie here.

Male, in my 40s. I don’t have my numbers handy, but I know that I am under -1 for sphere and cylinder, and have a small correction for astigmatism.

I work at a screen eight hours per day, and unfortunately, it’s not something I can avoid. I currently wear glasses for screen work only, though I ought to wear them for reading paper books, and I am also getting headaches because I need correction for longer-range vision.

I have not gone down the rabbit hole of EndMyopia’s material yet.

I like to ask a basic question: what are reasonable expectations with regards to daily time investment (and duration of practice, over months or longer) to correct my vision such that I no longer need corrective lenses? And on a related note, once I have corrected my vision, will I still need to commit to a daily practice to maintain the correction?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

No, there’s not really any daily practice required in terms of spending additional time “doing anything”. You basically just work on your habits: when you’re outside or driving try to focus on distant objects like street signs or license plates. When you’re indoors make sure you’re regularly looking up from the screen and focusing on some distant object to give your eyes a break. You also want to try to keep the screens at the maximum comfortable distance you can still focus clearly.

For you, you shouldn’t be wearing distance glasses at all for screen work! If you find you must have the astigmatism correction you’d be better off getting a pair of “office lenses” or “computer glasses” made up with a minimal amount of astigmatism correction and no sphere, or even a tiny amount of plus sphere.

Minus lenses are to help you see clearly at a distance, for activities such as driving, and actually contribute to eyestrain if you’re using them for close-up.

So, as you’re reading through the End Myopia stuff, you’d want to: