Starting Endmyopia opposite (underprescribed)

Hi all,
I’ve read a lot but I’m still confused with my starting point.
I’ve been wearing my current glasses for several years, but my eyesight still continued to detoriorate…
Since I started reading endmyopia in December I implemented daily habits to my life. trying 20/20/20 rule, getting distance vision, ditching phone use, trying to active focus etc. Since most people here starting their journey with differentials but for me… well my current glasses are about -1.5D weaker than what I should wear and I have high myopia ( -6.5/-7) so theoretically I’m wearing differentials for everything. Probably living with blur adaptation (I can still tell when blur starts but it’s not that obvious of course). What should I do now? Can I buy glasses which I will see the 20/30 line on snellen chart (normalised) and keep current glasses for close up work and start from there?

With such a false start, there will be no hard gains from first reductions, right?

I started EM seriously underprescribed (in fact, no glasses) and managed to make some good gains. It is not the usual way, or the recommended way. It is entirely up to you if you want to buy a pair of norms, and take the usual route. What line can you read on the Snellen with your present glasses? This might answer the question for you.

In spite of not having been over-corrected and having no regular ciliary spasm to reduce, I made fast initial gains with my stronger eye. My much weaker eye followed with a lag of about 6 months. I spend little time at a screen, and I think this makes a big difference.

I would be reluctant to call it a false start. All paths lead to Rome. :grin:

3 Likes

Thank you for your reply,

I would love to do that but I’m a student and with pandemic there are online classes :smirk:

I can see 20/50 and a bit of 20/40 line on my snellen (3m chart in natural light) with my current glasses.