Tips for a faster improvement?

I got my normalized on Sept. 10 after weeks of getting my differentials somewhere in August, and I unfortunately haven’t noticed any signs of improvement at all on my snellen. I actually went to the optometrist this month and she said my true prescription is still the same; -6.75 in my left eye, -7.25 in my right eye (luckily I found a supportive optometrist). My differentials are 2.00 diopters lower and my normalized are 0.50 diopters lower. The 20/25 line isn’t that clear yet with both eyes.
These things are part of my daily routine. I’d really appreciate any suggestions/tips that would help me make improvements.

• I am a student, so I have to do closeup work for a very large portion of the day. I use my differentials for closeup work of course, and I try my best to do the 20/20 rule.

• I only spend about 15 minutes all in all in an entire day outside because Canada is really chilly now and now isn’t the best time to get a cold :frowning: . The most AF I get is doing closeup work, which is what I suspect to be the reason of why I’m not improving?

• Close-up active focus with my differentials isn’t difficult for me, but I have a hard time with distance active focus using normalized. In classrooms I try and focus on words on posters or boards and it takes me a WHILE for me to see them clearly.

• Instead of using my phone or laptop for entertainment, I’m watching a lot more TV now, and I’m not sure if it’s the best substitute. Also, I cannot do AF watching TV 'cause my living room isn’t big enough for the screen to be far away enough.

• I eat white rice almost every meal, which I think should be taken into consideration.

Also, the optometrist said she was impressed that the longer I looked at the chart in the dark in her office, the more clearer the text became, so maybe I’m not as bad at distance AF as I thought??

I really want this to work, so any tips are appreciated :slight_smile:

1 Like