Tired of Being a High Myope!

Hi There,

My name is Linda. I’m in my mid-50’s and currently living in Northern California. I’m an Engineer who spends a lot of time in front of a computer monitor and, sadly, have very high myopia. Ugh.

I’m excited to get started on my EM journey and know it’s going to take a long time. But I’m up for the challenge. I’ve been wearing contact lenses for as long as I can remember – probably over 30 years. Since my myopia is so high, I don’t do well with glasses. I only wear them at night before going to bed. I plan on going through my EM journey with contacts and wearing plus lenses over them for close-up work.

I’ve taken Jake’s free 7-day course; read a lot of content on the EM blog, forum, and FB page; and watched a lot of his YouTube videos (funny guy!). I’ve started to change some of my habits, e.g., doing 20/20/20, getting outside, and reducing phone screentime. For now, I’ve been minimizing my close-up work (wearing full-strength contacts) by sitting about 80 cm from my monitor using a wireless keyboard and mouse. I’ll be using plus lenses as soon as I figure out which ones I need.

My Rx:
Contacts: -9.50R, -9.00L
Glasses: -10.50R, -10.00L
Note: My optometrist has been intentionally fitting my left eye at the lower strength for close-up, i.e., to create monovision. My naked eyes are pretty even.

Anyway, that’s me and my eyes, in a nutshell. I look forward to learning from other high myopes, who have been successful in their EM journey while wearing contacts. While it would be awesome to get to 20/20 someday (a pipe dream), I know it may not be realistic. My goal is to at least get to a moderate myopia level (around -5 or so), so that I can reduce the risk of developing those potential issues related to high myopia (i.e., detached retina, cataract, macular degeneration, etc.).

Wish me luck!

Linda

7 Likes

Good luck on your journey!