Ways to improve to get first reduction?

Hello all,

Mery here with my first update. I think this is my first time starting a post. So following the posting guidelines, some of this is a repeat from my intro.

• Tell us your centimeter and Snellen measurements

My current cms are about R16.5 sometimes, and L25.

R is up from 15.24 from when I started (May 2019), L is same.

With the indoor chart, same as old measure R 20/50 (barely) and L 20/40 in my contacts. I stay in a basement and don’t have a way to get real good lighting, but a 100watt over the chart. I changed my desk lamp to be stronger light.

I’ve always been and still have -0.25 undercorrected, with no astig correction though I have astig. So I wear normalised contacts, with +1.25 for screens, +2.0 for reading, and have differentials for when no contacts. Optha said I have low macular degen and cataracts which could make some blur but not alot. No treatment needed for either.

• What have you done so far?

Taking walks with AF whenever I can, and also paying lots of active attention to extremely clear surroundings, since I’d been blur adapted. Doing AF on walks, at the computer, reading.

Taking many short outdoor breaks every day (I have music students coming in, so between teaching) with AF on street signs, trees, plants, license plates etc. This plus active clear focus are my biggest new habits, and I feel like AF has become a habit! but sometimes I forget to purposely think about it.

Patching to strengthen my R (thanks to Bobby!). I kindle read/AF every night with only my real eyes + patch.

I just spent a week away in the mountains mid July with no computer, and only 5 minutes a day on texts, no other screens or reading. I did AF outdoors all week. No measurements changed when I got back. I was so disappointed.

Doing cm measure is still real depressing, but I found last night that if I wait ~15 minutes with no lenses and -then- measure, my R eye is better. Otherwise the measurements are unchanged.